MINUTES 2002-2003 ANNUAL MEETING UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

JULY 1, 2002

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual and regular session on Monday, July 1, 2002, in Carter Hall in the University Center. Present were Trustees Louise Bruce, David Huber, Tina Kern-Raibley, Thomas McKenna, and James Will Sr. Also attending were President H. Ray Hoops, Vice Presidents Robert Parrent, Robert Reid, and Sherrianne Standley; Associate Vice President for Business Administration Cynthia Brinker; Faculty Senate Chair Christy Baker; and Student Government Association President Britney Gentry.

Mr. Will called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Mrs. Standley called the roll and determined that a quorum was present. She read the notice of the annual meeting. On a motion by Mr. Huber, seconded by Mrs. Kern-Raibley, the 2001-2002 annual meeting minutes were approved and reading of the minutes was waived.

The nominating committee chair, Mr. McKenna, reported that the nominating committee on which he, Mrs. Kern-Raibley, and Mrs. Torain served, has submitted the following slate of officers for the 2002-2003 year:

Chair	J. David Huber
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Long-RangePlanning Committee	Bruce H. Baker
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Finance Committee	G. Patrick Hoehn
Secretary	Louise S. Bruce

Mr. McKenna noted that the committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986, and requested that the statement be entered into the minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mr. Will called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, he declared the nominations closed. On a motion by Mrs. Tina Kern-Raibley, seconded by Mr. McKenna, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved</u>.

Following the election of officers, Mr. Will passed the gavel to Mr. Huber.

On behalf of the Board of Trustees, Mrs. Kern-Raibley presented the following resolution of appreciation:

RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION TO JAMES L. WILL SR.

- WHEREAS, James L. Will Sr. was appointed to the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees in 1996, and reappointed in 2000; and
- WHEREAS, in his capacity as trustee, Mr. Will has been an active partner in fully developing educational opportunities for the people of Indiana; and
- WHEREAS, in recognition of his leadership abilities, Mr. Will was elected chair of the Board of Trustees in 1999, and has served with distinction for the past three years; and
- WHEREAS, during his term of leadership, the University has experienced unparalleled progress, including enrollment growth, development of student life opportunities, and expansion of academic, residential, and recreational facilities;
- NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that at its eighteenth annual meeting, the Board of Trustees, assembled at Evansville, Indiana, on July 1, 2002, commends Mr. James L. Will Sr. for his dedication to the full development of the University of Southern Indiana and the people it serves; and
- FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be adopted and spread upon its minutes for all time as a perpetual recognition of the deep gratitude owed by the University, its trustees, officers, students, and faculty, to Mr. James L. Will Sr. for his devoted service.

President Hoops presented Mr. Will with a University Chair and expressed appreciation for his service as chair of the Board of Trustees. By a unanimous vote, the Resolution of Appreciation <u>was approved</u>.

Mr. Huber appointed Robert Ruble as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Huber appointed Louise Bruce, Harolyn Torain, and Walter Jermakowicz to serve on the Long-Range Planning Committee, with Bruce Baker as chair.

Mr. Huber appointed Tina Kern-Raibley, Thomas McKenna, and James Will Sr. to serve on the Finance Committee with G. Patrick Hoehn as chair.

Mr. Huber appointed Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, and Tina Kern-Raibley to the USI Foundation Board of Directors for 2002-2003; and Walter Jermakowicz, David Huber, and Thomas McKenna to serve on the USI/New Harmony Foundation Board of Directors.

There being no further business, Mr. Huber declared the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Louise S. Bruce, Secretary